Pet Stores that sell puppies – stop puppy mills!

18 08 2008

When it came time for me to get my own personal first dog, I could hardly wait. I owned a macaw at the time, but had always wanted my own puppy. My mom told me that if I rehomed the macaw I could get a dog(I kept the macaw for quite some time after getting my puppy anyways:-)). I had been at the mall a few days prior to this, and had seen a very cute cocker spaniel puppy in the window. So we headed off to the mall “just to look”. We brought Tyler home that day. He had “championship lines” and he had the sweetest personality. He never got sick (though he did have eye problems throughout his life) and he lived to be 14 years old. I loved that dog. But what we didn’t know at the time, was that he was a puppy mill puppy. His “championship lines” consisted of 1 champion, 4 generations back. And we had lucked out…we got one that was healthy. Read the rest of this entry »